Ethiopia is in the tropical zone lying between the Equator and the Tropic of Cancer. It has three different climate zones according to elevation.

Kolla (Tropical zone) – is below 1830 meters in elevation and has an average annual temperature of about 27 degree Celsius with annual rainfall about 510 millimeters. The Danakil Depression (Danakil Desert) is about 125 meters below sea level and the hottest region in Ethiopia where the temperature climbs up to 50 degree Celsius.

Woina dega (Subtropical zone) – includes the highland area of 1830 – 2440 meters in elevation with an average annual temperature of about 22 degree Celsius and annual rainfall between 510 and 1530 millimeters.

Dega (Cool zone) – is above 2440 meters in elevation with an average annual temperature of about 16 degree Celsius with annual rainfall between 1270 and 1280 millimeters.

Ethiopian Seasons

  • Kiremt or Meher (summer) – June, July and August are the summer season. Heavy rain falls in these three months.
  • Tseday (spring) – September, October and November are the spring season sometimes known as the harvest season.
  • Bega (winter) – December, January and February are the dry season with frost in morning especially in January.
  • Belg (autumn) – March, April and May are the autumn season with occasional showers. May is the hottest month in Ethiopia.